First Impressions: Seagate Backup Plus Slim

I’ve been using Seagate’s Backup Plus Slim external hard drive for five days now, and despite the honeymoon phase still being in effect, now’s as good a time as any to weigh in on my experience so far.

For starters, this thing is small. Hopefully, the photo above does it justice but for comparison it’s roughly the size of my fairly average sized wallet. It also weighs practically nothing, so chucking it into a backpack is not an issue.

I like that the Backup Plus Slim uses USB 3.0 for faster data transfer, but the proprietary connector on the hard drive is a downside for me. Being forced to carry around another cable in addition to my phone charger is disappointing, and the cable could be a tad longer.

The setup process was smooth, with my Windows 10 PC recognizing it immediately after plugging it in. After downloading Seagate’s Companion software, I was able to set up an initial backup and a plan to backup files as they change. Depending on how much you’re backing up, the initial sync will take a while. It took several hours to backup the roughly 400 GB of files on my laptop, but the task stays in the background.

The Companion software is a bit buggy in my experience, with progress bars taking a couple extra seconds to refresh. That’s definitely a nitpick though.

For the price, the Seagate Backup Plus Slim can’t be beat. For $55-$70 (depending on pricing and storage space), the Backup Plus Slim is an amazing external drive that I can wholeheartedly recommend. It doesn’t hurt that it comes in red.

Leave a Reply

