Sheldon Adelson distances himself from Las Vegas Review-Journal purchase

Macau Daily Times reporter Paulo Coutinho got in touch with new Las Vegas Review-Journal owner Sheldon Adelson for an interview where Adelson downplayed his involvement in the purchase.

“You don’t tell your children what to do, I can’t tell my children what to do. They wanted to buy the newspaper, so they bought the newspaper. I don’t have anything to do with it, I have no financial interest. My money that the children have with which to buy the newspaper is their inheritance. I don’t want to spend money on a newspaper.”

-Sheldon Adelson, Las Vegas Review-Journal owner

Coutinho also asked the GOP donor if he plans to sway the Review-Journal’s reporting:

“We have about 200 journalists at the Israel Today newspaper. You could call any one of them and you say, ‘Did anybody from the Adelson family ever tell you what to write or what not to write?’ and they will tell you, ‘No.’ If somebody’s going to write something bad about me and [even if] there’s no justification for it, I won’t know about it until after it’s done.”

-Sheldon Adelson

Source: Poynter

Leave a Reply

