SOTU: How to watch President Obama address the nation

President Obama will address the nation in his annual State of the Union address tonight at 9PM ET (6PM PT, 2AM Wednesday GMT). Here’s how you can watch it.

White House

The White House will be live-streaming the President’s address with “live data, graphics and charts that explain the issues and policies he’ll be discussing in the speech.”

Broadcast TV

CBS will have Evening News anchor Scott Pelley anchoring coverage from Washington, joined by Bob Schieffer, This Morning co-host Norah O’Donnell, chief White House correspondent Major Garnett, Congressional correspondent Nancy Cordes and political director John Dickerson, beginning at 9PM ET. Digital-only network CBSN will also stream the network’s coverage. Pelley will jointly interview House Speaker John Boehner and Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell since the new session of Congress convened earlier this month. An excerpt of that interview will be shown on Thursday’s CBS Evening News. The full interview will be broadcast this Sunday at 7PM ET/PT (12AM Monday GMT) on 60 Minutes.

ABC’s coverage will be led by chief anchor George Stephanopoulos from Washington at 9PM ET. World News Tonight anchor David Muir will broadcast his show from Capitol Hill and report throughout the night. Chief White House correspondent Jonathan Karl, chief global affairs correspondent Martha Raddatz, political analyst Cokie Roberts and contributors Matthew Dowd, Nicolle Wallace and Donna Braizle will also make appearances. At 12:35 AM ET (9:35PM PT; 5:35AM GMT) Wednesday, Nightline will feature highlights from the address.

Nightly News anchor and managing editor Brian Williams will anchor NBC’s coverage from Washington with help from Meet the Press moderator and NBC News political director Chuck Todd, chief foreign affairs correspondent Andrea Mitchell, senior White House correspondent Chris Jansing, and NBC News senior political analyst Joe Scarborough. NBC’s coverage will also feature White House correspondent Kristen Welker, Noticiero Telemundo and MSNBC anchor Jose Diaz-Balart, as well as Capitol Hill correspondent Kelly O’Donnell inside the House chamber.

Fox News breaking news anchor Shephard Smith will anchor live coverage at 9PM ET on Fox with contributors from Fox News Sunday host Chris Wallace.

On PBS, weekday Newshour anchors Gwen Ifill and Judy Woodruff will be joined by columnists Mark Shields and David Brooks for a thoughtful analysis of the speech.

Cable

C-SPAN offers as clean a view as you’re going to get — with a focus on just the President. THe network leads off with analysis by former historian Ray Smock, following by viewer reactions and commentary from lawmakers. The speech will be replayed in its entirety at 11PM ET (8PM PT, 4AM Wednesday GMT).

 

Fox News Channel will have coverage anchored by Special Report anchor Bret Baier and commentary from George Will, Steve Hayes, Juan Williams and Nina Easton, along with live reports from the White House and U.S. Capitol by Ed Henry and Mike Emanuel. Special editions of The O’Reilly Factor and The Kelly File will air at 8PM and 11PM ET. Sister network Fox Business Channel will feature anchor Neil Cavuto with analysts Peter Barns and Rich Edson, followed by a live hour hosted by John Stossel. His guests include Montana republican Steve Daines and Texas democrat Henry Cueller.

CNN’s parade of correspondents will contribute to its SOTU coverage. The show begins at 7PM ET (4PM PT; 12AM Wednesday GMT) with Erin Burnett anchoring her weekday show OutFront from Capitol Hill, followed by non-stop analysis anchored by Wolf Blitzer, Anderson Cooper and Jake Tapper. News and commentary will be offered by Jim Acosta, Dana Bash, Gloria Borger, John King and Michael Smerconish. Spanish language programming from Juan Carlos Lopez will originate from Havana with the Republican response also airing in Spanish.

Rachel Maddow and Chris Matthews will lead MSNBC’s coverage, joined by commentators and contributors like Chris Hayes, Al Sharpton, Kasie Hunt, Steve Kornacki, Steve Schmidt, Robert Gibbs, Michael Steele, Eugene Robinson, Victoria DeFrancesco Soto with Andrea Mitchell, Ed Schultz and Luke Russert reporting, and Jose Diaz-Balart contributing from Miami.

Bloomberg TV will anchor coverage led by Bloomberg Politics editors Malk Halperin and John Heilemann. The With All Due Respect duo will be joined by Bloomberg View’s Al Hunt and political analysts like Carly Florina, Anita Dunn and John Sununu, as well as correspondents Phil Mattingly, Peter Cook and Margaret Tale.

Al Jazeera America will begin its coverage at 7PM ET (12AM Wednesday GMT, 4PM PT) with a special edition of Real Money with Ali Velshi focuing on The State of the Economy. From 7:30-9PM ET (12:30AM-2AM Wednesday GMT; 4:30-6PM PT), the network will present a pre-speech countdown with poll results and team coverage with John Seighenthaler, Tony Harris, Inside Story anchor Ray Suarez anchoring from New York with contributions from AJAM White House correspondent Mike Viqueira, NYU Professor of Campaign Management Jeanne Zaino, Peter Sharp in Moscow, Jane Arraf in Baghdad and David Ariosto in Havana.The Stream co-host Wajahat Ali will be live from Washington’s Newseum examining issues on social media and monitoring tweets from around the world in real-time. Correspondents Libby Casey and Michael Shure will be live on Capitol Hill with interviews and post-speech analysis. David Shuster will also provide analysis and report results of the first Al Jazeera America/Monmouth University nationwide poll. At 9PM ET, Al Jazeera America will present live coverage of the SOTU address, the GOP response, analysis and commentary from the Newseum in Washington. From 10:30PM-12AM Wednesday ET (7:30-9PM PT; 3:30AM-5AM Wednesday GMT), the network will present post-speech analysis and discussion of the 2016 elections. In addition, an hour-long edition of Real Money with Ali Velshi will examine the state of the economy and the middle class from the start of the Obama administration through today.

Digital

Digital-only network CBSN will also simulcast parent network CBS’ coverage, with the team anchoring in the 8PM ET (1AM Wednesday GMT, 5PM PT) to preview their coverage.

CNN’s Peter Hamby will anchor his Hambycast live, beginning at 8:30PM ET (5:30PM PT, 11:30PM GMT) on CNNPolitics.com.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s