Matt Brickman, Kim Johnson join WCCO’s morning show

Matt Brickman and Kim Johnson will join Jason DeRusha and Jamie Yuccas on WCCO 4 News This Morning, according to the station.

Brickman currently hosts and delivers weather forecasts for WCCO’s Saturday Mornings and produces the station’s popular Best of Minnesota segment. Brickman suceeds Mike Augustyniak as morning meterologist. Augustyniak will remain with the station as weekend meteorologist and weather producer during the week.

Augustyniak:

“My body doesn’t work as well at 3AM as it does at 3PM. I’m grateful that we were able to figure out a solution that allowed me to better balance my personal life with my work life.”

Johnson currently anchors Saturday Mornings and serves as a weekday reporter.

Johnson, will will continue to anchor and report news and traffic for WCCO 4 News This Morning:

“It’s been a dream covering stories in my home state and there’s no better place to do that than WCCO.”

Current morning traffic reporter and anchor Natalie Nyhus will shift to anchoring Saturday Mornings.

“After four awesome years on mornings, I was ready for a new challenge. I can’t wait to take on the Saturday Mornings show and our Best of Minnesota series when Matt Brickman passes the torch. This is my home state and I’m honored to be able to showcase its brightest spots.”

Mike Caputa, WCCO news director, in a letter to staff:

“While we know how valuable both have been to our morning show, based on the reason for their ask, we wanted to do our best to make the accommodation. Having a depth of very talented people on staff has made this possible.

“I can say that everyone is excited about their new opportunities and I hope you all wish them well.”

These changes take effect this week.

Source: CBS Minnesota

 

Leave a Reply

